Ash Clifton Speaks About "Twice the Trouble"

 

Meet and hear Ash Clifton speak about Twice the Trouble, his new detective/mystery novel on Monday, July 8th at 5:00 PM at the Pass Christian Library. Pass Books will be on site with books available for sale and Ash's signature. 

A private investigator follows a trail of blood and bodies to find his latest target-or die trying-in this riveting thriller perfect for fans of Jeffery Deaver and Mick Herron. Noland Twice, a star athlete turned private investigator, can find anyone, no matter how far they run or how well they hide. He works the Orlando-Tampa corridor, a bizarre land where theme parks and tourists coexist with drug deals and crooked businessmen. When a shady local executive, Valkenburg, goes missing, Noland is the only man for the job.

Within hours of taking the case, Noland realizes nothing about this case is going to be easy, and he recruits his friend Kiril to help him with the dirty work when he finds a dead body. But the corpse isn't the missing man-it's the body of one of the partners of his construction firm. There's only one clue as to Valkenburg's whereabouts: a set of strange numbers hastily scrawled on the dead man's arm.

When Noland discovers that the numbers are a set of GPS coordinates, he follows the trail to a construction site. At the exact location inscribed on the body, there's a box buried in the dirt. Inside, he finds a handwritten journal-and a woman's severed head.

Propulsive and unpredictable, this gritty P.I. thrill ride races through a criminal world where nothing is ever as it seems.

Noland Twice, a star athlete turned private investigator, can find anyone, no matter how far they run or how well they hide. He works the Orlando-Tampa corridor, a bizarre land where theme parks and tourists coexist with drug deals and crooked businessmen. When a shady local executive, Valkenburg, goes missing, Noland is the only man for the job. Within hours of taking the case, Noland realizes nothing about this case is going to be easy, and he recruits his friend Kiril to help him with the dirty work when he finds a dead body. But the corpse isn't the missing man--it's the body of one of the partners of his construction firm. There's only one clue as to Valkenburg's whereabouts: a set of strange numbers hastily scrawled on the dead man's arm.

Ash Clifton grew up in Gainesville, Florida, home of the University of Florida, where his father was a deputy sheriff and, later, the Chief of Police. He graduated from U.F. with a degree in English, then got an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from the University of Arizona. He lives in Gainesville with his wife and son. He writes mystery, thriller, and science fiction novels.

Praise for Twice the Trouble
"Noland Twice is a charismatic hero in a riveting story with breakneck pacing, unguessable twists, and a heart-stopping ending. Fans of Robert B. Parker and Lee Child will love him."
-- Booklist, starred review

Fans of antiheroes and flawed characters will enjoy this action-packed, nonstop adventure."
-- Library Journal

"Clifton takes the central mystery in surprising and satisfying directions. Fans of Michael Kortya's Lincoln Perry series will be eager to spend more time with this memorable sleuth."
-- Publishers Weekly

"Clifton's gritty, gripping debut, Twice the Trouble, easily proves that the private detective subgenre thrives."
-- South Florida Sun Sentinel

"This is a well-written, fun thriller, with a great lead character."
-- Red Carpet Crash

Twice The Trouble is a gritty, confident and promising debut. A modern hardboiled trek into Florida's dark underbelly. Ash Clifton is a writer to watch!"
--Matt Coyle, author of the Shamus, Anthony and Lefty Award-winning Rick Cahill series

"Noland Twice is an original and darkly compelling character you aren't sure you should like as you enter his world. But then you realize you already do and can't wait to see how he deals with the next dead body falling across his path. This is fast-paced pleasure."
--James Polkinghorn, author of Liquid Shades of Blue

Event date: 
Monday, July 8, 2024 - 5:00pm to 6:15pm
Event address: 
111 Hiern Avenue
Pass Christian Library
Pass Christian, MS 39571
Twice the Trouble: A Novel By Ash Clifton Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781639106974
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crooked Lane Books - March 5th, 2024